Moree Plains Shire Council Recognition of Service Awards

THE Moree Plains Shire Council Recognition of Service ceremony on Saturday acknowledged 17 staff members who have devoted a significant number of years working for Moree Plains Shire.


David Carter with Moree mayor Katrina Humphries and general manager Lester Rodgers. Mr Carter was awarded for 35 years’ service to Moree Plains Shire Council.

The ceremony recognises the dedication and loyalty of council staff and the contribution they have made to the community.
Mayor Katrina Humphries said elected councillors often get the kudos but it is the staff who are the backbone of the council.
“Without a good strong, functionally working team, we would never achieve anything; this is a team effort,” Cr Humphries said.

General manager Lester Rodgers commended all the recipients for their contribution and commitment to the community.

“We are very fortunate to have so many staff who have worked continually with the Moree Plains Shire in a time when people are often headhunted by other businesses,” he said.
“We are grateful, as a community, to have such a stable long-standing workforce.”

Mr Rodgers made special mention of recipients David Carter for his 35 years’ service and Peter Storck for his 40 years’ service.

David Carter was initially hired as a bitumen patching ganger and progressed to truck driver. In his current role of ordinance Inspector, he is responsible for the policing and weighing of heavy vehicles with the North West Weight of Loads Group.

Peter Storck started as a labourer and graduated to grader driver. In his current role of plant operator, he demonstrates sound experience in the operation of a variety of heavy rigid vehicles, dog trailers, grader operation, back hoe, rollers and tractors.

The annual ceremony recognises the service of staff who have achieved 10 years’ service or more, with recipients honoured every five years thereafter.
This year’s recipients are:
10 years: Aaron Annis-Brown, Jacqui Mitchell, Mark Marsden, Murray Amos, Therese Smith and William McIntosh
15 years: David Graham, Kylie Kerr, Leica Hammond, Luke Raveneau and Natasha Hook
20 years: Alison Robinson
25 years: David Maunder, Dennis Girard and Tony Blewitt
35 years: David Carter
40 years: Peter Storck

Media Release November 21, 2016