Long service recognised for MPSC staff

Twenty employees were recognised for their long-service and commitment to Moree Plains Shire Council in a ceremony that also acknowledged the commitment to Excellence in Service demonstrated by individual staff members to colleagues and the community.

Mayor Katrina Humphries said elected councillors often get the kudos, but it is the staff members that are the backbone of the Council. 

“Without a good strong, functionally working team, we would never achieve anything; this is a team effort,” Cr Humphries said.

General manager Lester Rodgers commended all recipients for their contribution and commitment to the community.

“We are very fortunate to have so many staff members that have worked continually with the Moree Plains Shire in a time when people are often headhunted by other businesses,” Mr Rodgers said.

“We are grateful, as a community, to have such a stable, long-standing workforce.”

Congratulations were also given to Deena Murray, who was nominated by her peers for providing excellent assistance and support to fellow employees, so they can achieve their work requirements.

(l-r) Kent Harris, Leonard Hattenfels, Deena Murray (Excellence in Service Award), Danny Cheetham, Renee McMillan, General Manager Lester Rodgers, Holly Ireland, Mayor Katrina Humphries, Alice Colbran, Cr Greg Smith, Bianca Senior, Syed Hasen, Brett Blewitt and Daniel Hobday.

Rosalie Peacey, Kent Harris, Dwayne Singh and Colin Andrews were acknowledged for demonstrating in their daily work life, council’s organisational values of courage, accountability, safety, team work and honesty.

Mr Rodgers said he is very proud of the staff at Moree Plains as so many employees go above and beyond in their roles.

“Their leadership abilities and professionalism are qualities that reflect the high standards which we expect of our staff,” he said.

Mr Rodgers made special mention of recipients Anthony Dean for his 30 years’ service and Fiona McClymont for her 35 years’ service.

“Serving the Moree Plains community for a number of decades requires dedication, loyalty and resilience and I thank the recipients on behalf of our ratepayers and the residents,” Mr Rodgers said.

This year’s recipients are:

35 years: Fiona McClymont.

30 years: Anthony Dean.

20 years: Greg Macey, Leonard Hattenfels., Robert (Kent) Harris, Geoffery Girard, Kym Stanford and Brett Blewitt.

15 years: Danny Cheetham, Daniel Hobday, Peter O’Neill, Alfred Ross, Kelvin (Mick) Colbran and Renee McMillan.

10 years: Jason Smith, Holly Ireland, Syed Hasan, Alice Colbran, Bianca Senior and Lionel Green.

Media Release: May 2, 2018