Bush school facilities open for public use during winter holidays

PRIMARY schools at Pallamallawa, Boomi, Croppa Creek, Garah, Mallawa, North Star, Bonshaw, Tulloona and Warialda will make their playgrounds, ovals and sports courts available to the public during the winter school holidays.

The schools are throwing open the gates to the community as part of the NSW Government’s Share Our Space Program.

NORTHERN Tablelands MP Adam Marshall encourages members of the local community to use the schools’ facilities over the holiday period.

“The Share Our Space Program provides valuable opportunities for local children and families to get out and play,” Mr Marshall said.

Northern Tablelands MP Adam Marshall with students at Garah Public School.

“I’m delighted the State Government is thinking outside the box to provide open play areas for our local community, and putting school assets to good use.”

Mr Marshall said he was pleased to see the number of participating schools in the region continue to grow each school holidays since the program first began in December, 2017.

“Schools are at the heart of our local communities, which is why I am thrilled to see more and more schools opening their gates every school holidays,” Mr Marshall said.

Under the $30 million Share Our Space Program, participating schools receive a $5000 grant they can use to help upgrade their facilities for community and school use.

The nine schools will be open during the holidays from July 8 to July 19, between 8am and 5pm.